give me an illusion

why oh why did i
let myself be
so vulnerable
why did it have to be this way
any words you say
an ice cold knife
why can’t you just
believe in us
feed me a lie
just once in my life
i wanted to believe
everything would be fine
i never asked for this
if i was alone
i wouldn’t hesitate to run
but you’re in my bones
in all i do and see
so can you please be gentle
and tell me we’re gonna
be together forever
i can’t bear the thought
of us apart
i would survive
but i wouldn’t live
i hadn’t realized
until now just how much
i care
i ache
to tell me you love me now
is not enought
it doesn’t make it hurt less
if i fell would you leave me
completely alone?
couldn’t you at least try?
i know who you are
but this lack of faith
is like a knife stabbing
through my heart
i never realised
i was this weak
so please just tell me
it’s going to be okay.

Leave a Comment

